What we saw at the CIMA Mind Challenge


There was no sleeping-in for the contenders of CIMA Mind Challenge. The corridors of Hilton Residencies were speckled with teams ready to be quizzed. Marking the 18th annual Mind Challenge quiz competition, the morning was a momentous occasion for CIMA’s student body which put the event together.

Chief Guest for the morning was Chairman CIMA Board Sri Lanka, Manjula De Silva. “Sri Lanka is the largest market” for the UK qualification he told the battle-ready teams, and is the largest market outside its home country. Quiz enthusiast himself, the Chairman admitted to representing many of his former bodies of education at various quizzes when he was a student. Often he said “Good things are not fun, and fun things are not always good.” Upon coming across a “Guilt-free” indulgence in quizzes he was seen silently working out responses to the questions.

CIMA Mind Challenge
Image credits: Pasindu Rathnayake

40 teams from across the professional and educational sphere started out but by afternoon only eight survived. Dialog and Fonterra were among the corporate teams still standing, while a team from the University of Kelaniya also flew their colors. Glitch-y buzzers didn’t take away from the otherwise entertaining round.

Business and Current Affairs, CIMA Curriculum, Sports, Entertainment, History and Geography were hurdles thrown their way in the last rounds of competition. 4 teams entered this stage which soon turned into a full-on intellectual gladiator-style show down between the two teams finishing on top.

Runners-up were the members of team ‘Ambiants,’ Tharindri Rupesinghe, Jetha Elvitigala, Shama Ameenudeen, Sarith Samarajeewa and Sean Baliah.

The winning team at the CIMA Mind Challenge
The winning team at the CIMA Mind Challenge (Image credits: Vevra/Pasindu Rathnayake)

Winners of first place and return air-tickets to Sigiriya was a team consisting of former students of Ananda College, called ‘Ex- ACQC.’ Deran Hewavitharana, Darshana Gamage, Lukshitha Lokugalappaththi, Viraj Madushanka and Dian Indula were its members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here