New Sri Lankan MSP’s Appointed


Organized with a gala luncheon at Excel World a few hours ago, 36 new students from Universities and Higher Education institutes in Sri Lanka were appointed as Microsoft Student Partners / Microsoft Student Ambassadors at the annual MSP Sri Lanka team meeting (14th July 2013). These MSPs were earlier selected as “Buddies” by the existing MSP/MSA’s and have been monitored and groomed for the past several months and were selected upon their achievements and dedication shown over the period.


Microsoft Student Partners is a global program conducted by Microsoft for students who major in technology related fields around the world. The program is conducted worldwide in over 100 countries with almost 3000 students being part of the program. The program enhances students’ employability by offering training in skills not usually taught in academia, including knowledge of Microsoft technologies.

In Sri Lanka the Microsoft Student Community is called the MS Champs community where any student following a technology related course is welcome to join. The MS Champs community has grown over the past several years and celebrates its 10th anniversary in the financial year starting July 2013. Meetings are held on the 2nd Friday of every month at 4.00pm where students gather to discuss on industry issues, latest technologies, student presentations and soft skills.


The 36 students who were appointed today are:

  1. Achithra Prasad Sachinthaka
  2. Chamila Isuru-Sagararathne
  3. Charmi Hewapathirana
  4. Damitha Jayasingha
  5. Dinusha Abeygunasekara
  6. Gobiha Mohanaranjan
  7. Haritha Thilakarathne
  8. Hasangi Kollure
  9. Hiran Walawage
  10. Hirosh Tharaka
  11. Lahiru Ratnayaka
  12. Madhawa Bandara
  13. Mahesh Fernando
  14. Malith Waniganayake
  15. Namila Perera
  16. Nilan Niyomal
  17. Niroshani Wijesooriya
  18. Nishantha Kaveendra
  19. Prabath Peiris
  20. Prabhani Thembiliya-Godage
  21. Prashan Madumal
  22. Rajitha Amarasinghe
  23. Rajpirathap Sakthithasan
  24. Ruchira Wijayathilake
  25. Rumesh Hapuarachchi
  26. Ruvini Bandara
  27. Sameera Thilakaratne
  28. Sanka Bulathgama
  29. Shashika Nanayakkara
  30. Shohan Dassanayake
  31. Shujan Suntharalingam
  32. Thilini Cooray
  33. Udara Alwis
  34. Yasasri Sampath
  35. Yasith Lokuge
  36. Yovin Lekamge

These newly appointed students will join the existing 25 MSP/MSA’s and take forward the program during the upcoming months. With the MS Champs community celebrating its 10th anniversary, plans are being made to celebrate it in style. So stay tuned for updates from the MS Champs Community.



Have something interesting and IT related to share? email the [email protected]




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here